https://www.amazon.jobs/en/business_categories/student-programs

Amazon

Stow

August 2015 • Carteret, NJ

What I liked

Working tech products.

What I wish was different

Spending a short amount of time on the job.

Advice

Follow through and work hard.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Engineer Intern

May - August 2017 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Work content, environment, pay.

What I wish was different

Stress level.

Advice

Be self-motivated.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Intern

June - September 2017 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Smaller company feel while having all of the resources of Amazon. Project was meaningful and full stack so I experienced what it was like developing for about four different teams. Project was deployed to production and is consumer facing.

What I wish was different

More experience with what actual team members do such as reviewing others' code.

Advice

Treat it like your actual full time job. Do not be afraid to ask questions and also do not be afraid to question existing code and practices.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Engineer Intern

May - August 2017 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

The people I worked with, the area, and the projects I was assigned. I learned a tremendous amount and all of the resources I could've possibly needed were at my disposal.

What I wish was different

I wish I could've stayed longer, but I needed to go back for school.

Advice

Look for answers to questions you have, but don't spend too much time looking. And socialize with the people you work with!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Data Analyst

June - August 2017 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Work hours were reasonable. Smart team that treated me just like any employee - did not feel like "the intern" once and had an amazing manager who helped me achieve personal goals. Tech was everywhere and I could attend tech talks that were happening daily to learn more from different teams.

What I wish was different

More intern events to meet people. The class was huge so it wasn't very tight.

Advice

It's a "you get what you put in" culture.
2 people found this helpful

Area Manager Intern

June - August 2017 • Joliet, IL

What I liked

Full immersion into Amazon Operations

What I wish was different

Better location

Advice

Do not be intimidated by the other people at the site
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software development engineering intern

June - September 2017 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Great compensation, Great housing package, worked on a great team (Kindle)

What I wish was different

Buying lunch everyday ended up costing quite a bit. Many companies offer free meals to employees, which isn’t the case at Amazon. Also, the criteria for a satisfactory performance was not well defined.

Advice

Try to get past the ramp-up phase as quickly as possible so you can’t start real work on your project. Many people who don’t get return offers spend several weeks on ramping up and planning and dot have time to deliver results. Also, be very conscious of the team you end up on, as experiences vary greatly across teams.
42 people found this helpful

Software Development Engineer

May - August 2017 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Great work environment, housing is set up by Amazon, the city is beautiful and entertaining, the work is real and fulfilling.

What I wish was different

Wish that some of my friends had done the internship with me.

Advice

Be polite, be able to take constructive criticism, be friendly with your coworkers, work hard, and make sure you are prepared before you go to get the return offer.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Intern Vendor Management

May - July 2016 • Munich, Bavaria

What I liked

I love the start up environment in my team. It was very easy for me to connect with my manager and had the option to reach out and work on projects that interested me. I also really appreciated how my opinion was taken into consideration even though I was "only" the intern.

What I wish was different

Not much, to be quite honest. Overtime seems to be standard, however. Nobody held it against me when I left but it was common for people to stay longer than 8 hours a day.

Advice

Just apply and be yourself during the interview! If you follow this, you won't have any problems adapting to the work environment. And don't be afraid to be outgoing and reaching out to people. They love helping interns!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Engineer Intern

June - September 2017 • San Francisco, CA

What I liked

Amazing team, intern community, and work environment.

What I wish was different

I wish I had been assigned a project that aligned with my technical skills and interests better.

Advice

Live and breathe Amazon's Leadership Principles, and have fun! :)
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Engineering Intern

May - July 2018 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Lots of learning opportunities and a great city to live in for a summer

What I wish was different

The intern events were not that great

Advice

Work work work, only those that work and keep the complaints to themselves get the return offer
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Engineering Intern

May - August 2018 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

The ability to learn from teammates and other engineers.

What I wish was different

I wish I had worked harder.

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Engineer

May - August 2018 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Team, project, overall experience

What I wish was different

More guidance near the beginning of internship

Advice

Always be learning and talk more.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Amazon Software Development Engineer Intern

May - August 2018 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Meeting other interns

What I wish was different

Get placed on a team which I had more interest in

Advice

Work hard but don’t forget to have fun because Seattle is a great city!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Warehouse Associate

March - September 2019 • Hebron, KY

What I liked

The pay, and flexible schedule

What I wish was different

The shift options that were available

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Warehouse Clerk

May - August 2019 • Sunrise, FL

What I liked

the pay

What I wish was different

n/a

Advice

Easy job just tiring, good pay & great hours!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sales Associate

June - July 2019 • Lynnfield, MA

What I liked

I loved the location where i worked and being able to work for amazon.

What I wish was different

i really wish that there weren’t competitive hours as i think that ruined the whole experience for me and led me to not desire to return.

Advice

one piece of advice i would give would be to do as much as you can in the little time you have, you will see a return in your work.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Program Manager Intern

June - August 2019 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Location and pay were great. Really good people to work with. Able to explore a variety of roles.

What I wish was different

Internship program is a mess: it's difficult to get in contact with anyone. I didn't know when I had to be in Seattle until a week or two before. I was told 3 different answers to any question if they were answered at all. I know most other interns have similar stories.

Advice

Get past the on-boarding process and it will be smoother sailing. Take the opportunity to explore other branches of the business, meet/talk with other managers, and go to company learning events.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Engineering Intern

May - August 2019 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Developing software at the scale at which Amazon operates has more challenges than what you learn in school. I was surrounded by smart people, making this summer a great learning experience.

What I wish was different

Advice

Don't stop asking questions. The people on your team can have so much valuable knowledge.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Warehouse Associate

July - August 2019 • Hamilton, OH

What I liked

good pay, set schedule, extra hours if you wanted them, good breaks, very accommodating.

What I wish was different

The software and the device quality that the facility used was lacking and led to a big loss of time when working just waiting or troubleshooting a very unintuitive system.

Advice

If you like being able to walk around do repeated labor tasks that you get on a little device, then this is the job for you. It is very nice to zone out and work without having to interact with others too much.
Be the first to mark this as helpful