https://www.amazon.jobs/en/business_categories/student-programs

Amazon

Human Intelligence

June 2018 • Costa Mesa, CA

What I liked

I like the flexible hours and the ability to telecommute.

What I wish was different

I wish the pay was higher.

Advice

You definitely need to be open to doing widely different tasks.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Junior Developer

February 2017 • San Luis Obispo, CA

What I liked

Very supportive environment, lots of resources, relatively laidback and understanding of school schedules.

What I wish was different

I don't like working in a cubicle. Also, every junior developer experienced a lot of stress during the summer.

Advice

Don't waste your time on corporate intro videos. Ask your mentor to give you a task as soon as possible. Finally, make sure to get the same setup that your mentor has (operating system, development environment, etc.); this will save you hours of trying to understand why the instructions in an out-of-date wiki aren't helping.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Engineer Intern

May - August 2018 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

It was a chill place to work. Everyone is very knowledgeable and motivated. No on micromanages you, and if you get your work done you pretty much have run over your own project/workday.

What I wish was different

Teams can be hit or miss. Mine had some minor issues. Team events were a bit lacking, but this varies across Amazon. No free food, but free coffee, snacks, and beer/happy hours made up for it.

Advice

Do it if you have a chance, it's worth it and they take care of their own.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Engineering Intern

June - August 2017 • Cupertino, CA

What I liked

Nice people, chill atmosphere, semi-interesting work

What I wish was different

Wish I'd got to work on cooler stuff

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Engineering Intern

May - August 2017 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Great experience

What I wish was different

.

Advice

Practice CTCI and leetcode
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Engineering Intern

May - August 2017 • Denver, CO

What I liked

Great community, great work/life balance, flexible working hours.

What I wish was different

I wish my office held more social activities for everyone to get to know each other.

Advice

Make sure to thoroughly plan out your intern project before starting it, and try to figure out what resources you need to finish the project.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Area Maintenance Manager Intern

June - August 2017 • Sumner, WA

What I liked

The people i worked with and getting to see the behind the scenes of Amazon. I also loved living in the Seattle area

What I wish was different

I wish there was more of an intern community

Advice

Try to learn as much as possible because if you work for Amazon full time you will be doing what you learned at your internship/
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Stow

August 2015 • Carteret, NJ

What I liked

Working tech products.

What I wish was different

Spending a short amount of time on the job.

Advice

Follow through and work hard.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Engineer Intern

May - August 2017 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Work content, environment, pay.

What I wish was different

Stress level.

Advice

Be self-motivated.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Intern

June - September 2017 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Smaller company feel while having all of the resources of Amazon. Project was meaningful and full stack so I experienced what it was like developing for about four different teams. Project was deployed to production and is consumer facing.

What I wish was different

More experience with what actual team members do such as reviewing others' code.

Advice

Treat it like your actual full time job. Do not be afraid to ask questions and also do not be afraid to question existing code and practices.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Engineer Intern

May - August 2017 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

The people I worked with, the area, and the projects I was assigned. I learned a tremendous amount and all of the resources I could've possibly needed were at my disposal.

What I wish was different

I wish I could've stayed longer, but I needed to go back for school.

Advice

Look for answers to questions you have, but don't spend too much time looking. And socialize with the people you work with!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Data Analyst

June - August 2017 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Work hours were reasonable. Smart team that treated me just like any employee - did not feel like "the intern" once and had an amazing manager who helped me achieve personal goals. Tech was everywhere and I could attend tech talks that were happening daily to learn more from different teams.

What I wish was different

More intern events to meet people. The class was huge so it wasn't very tight.

Advice

It's a "you get what you put in" culture.
2 people found this helpful

Area Manager Intern

June - August 2017 • Joliet, IL

What I liked

Full immersion into Amazon Operations

What I wish was different

Better location

Advice

Do not be intimidated by the other people at the site
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software development engineering intern

June - September 2017 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Great compensation, Great housing package, worked on a great team (Kindle)

What I wish was different

Buying lunch everyday ended up costing quite a bit. Many companies offer free meals to employees, which isn’t the case at Amazon. Also, the criteria for a satisfactory performance was not well defined.

Advice

Try to get past the ramp-up phase as quickly as possible so you can’t start real work on your project. Many people who don’t get return offers spend several weeks on ramping up and planning and dot have time to deliver results. Also, be very conscious of the team you end up on, as experiences vary greatly across teams.
37 people found this helpful

Software Development Engineer

May - August 2017 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Great work environment, housing is set up by Amazon, the city is beautiful and entertaining, the work is real and fulfilling.

What I wish was different

Wish that some of my friends had done the internship with me.

Advice

Be polite, be able to take constructive criticism, be friendly with your coworkers, work hard, and make sure you are prepared before you go to get the return offer.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Intern Vendor Management

May - July 2016 • Munich, Bavaria

What I liked

I love the start up environment in my team. It was very easy for me to connect with my manager and had the option to reach out and work on projects that interested me. I also really appreciated how my opinion was taken into consideration even though I was "only" the intern.

What I wish was different

Not much, to be quite honest. Overtime seems to be standard, however. Nobody held it against me when I left but it was common for people to stay longer than 8 hours a day.

Advice

Just apply and be yourself during the interview! If you follow this, you won't have any problems adapting to the work environment. And don't be afraid to be outgoing and reaching out to people. They love helping interns!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Engineer Intern

June - September 2017 • San Francisco, CA

What I liked

Amazing team, intern community, and work environment.

What I wish was different

I wish I had been assigned a project that aligned with my technical skills and interests better.

Advice

Live and breathe Amazon's Leadership Principles, and have fun! :)
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Engineering Intern

May - July 2018 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Lots of learning opportunities and a great city to live in for a summer

What I wish was different

The intern events were not that great

Advice

Work work work, only those that work and keep the complaints to themselves get the return offer
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Engineering Intern

May - August 2018 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

The ability to learn from teammates and other engineers.

What I wish was different

I wish I had worked harder.

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Development Engineer

May - August 2018 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Team, project, overall experience

What I wish was different

More guidance near the beginning of internship

Advice

Always be learning and talk more.
Be the first to mark this as helpful