http://www.vectormarketing.com

Vector Marketing

sales

June - September 2019 • Pittsford, NY

What I liked

good pay

What I wish was different

team meeting

Advice

learned sales
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Marketing Intern

June - September 2019 • Bloomfield Hills, MI

What I liked

I didn’t enjoy the job that much because if the way the market.

What I wish was different

The marketing scheme of things

Advice

Don’t work for this company if your not going to want to persuade your friends and family into buying their products.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sales Development Representatitve (PR and Marketing)

May 2018 • Kansas City, MO

What I liked

I loved the amazing experience I got from working face to face with customers and with my team.

What I wish was different

Hard to say, but I know that I could've always worked harder. I love that this job always pushed me to be better.

Advice

If you're looking to get great experience, something that will look great on your resume, and make a lot of money, you should do this job. But it won't be easy.
15 people found this helpful

Independent Sales Representative and Assistant Manager

December 2018 • Farmington, CT

What I liked

Engaging and fun work environment, personal and professional growth, exposure to the business world.

What I wish was different

I wish I had more free time during the summer

Advice

Don't think of yourself as someone who is "not like that" , take the interview and see if you like it, you may be surprised.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Branch Manager

April - September 2019 • Holtsville, NY

What I liked

Running my own office and training students.

What I wish was different

My office location/ space.

Advice

Dont take advantage of being your own boss.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Advertising Sales Agent

June 2019 • Branchburg, NJ

What I liked

Love the opportunity to learn and work with college students of similar age in an amazing work environment.

What I wish was different

Wish the summer was longer.

Advice

Highly suggest working with Vector Marketing because of the money life skills they teach. The skills they teach advance you to a level superior to your peers and will 10 years ahead of your time.
16 people found this helpful

District Sales Manager

June 2017 • Cranston, RI

What I liked

Flexible hours, fulfilling work, AMAZING resume experience, even more amazing people.

What I wish was different

I have no complaints. The company treats me well and the culture is amazing.

Advice

What you get out of it is what you put into it. Work hard and listen to your manager's advice and you will succeed. Lean into discomfort.
4 people found this helpful

Marketing and Sales Professional

June 2012 • San Jose, CA

What I liked

This has been the single most rewarding experience of my life -- and it was completely by accident. I was just looking for a summer job after high school, and ended up landing within a company that fostered personal growth and development and allowed me to realize a potential I never knew existed. I was able to craft my own schedule weekly around my other priorities, always seek help and guidance whenever I was confronted with a problem I didn't know how to solve, was lovingly pushed to step outside my comfort zone, and was able to make an insane income as a full-time college student at a rigorous university. This job allowed me to develop a network of over 3,000 people from all over the U.S. and has put me in a position of choice for whatever career I want upon graduation. Instead of companies interviewing me, I now interview companies; that leverage would have never been possible without working here.

What I wish was different

I wish that there wasn't such a negative online stigma surrounding the company. They are undeserving of it, and have cultivated many of the nation's top C-Level executives, entrepreneurs, salesmen and saleswomen, and business-people.

Advice

Take this job right now. Don't give up when it gets a little uncomfortable or hard. This job is the epitome of "you get what you put in." Anyone who has negative reviews on this page is the exact type of person who gives less than 100% and then blames the system/company instead of taking personal responsibility. As a high school graduate with no work experience, connections, communication or interpersonal skills, and low confidence, I was able to maximize this opportunity to become a sought-after candidate across many industries from finance to real estate to tech and beyond. I was able to leverage my experiences here to transfer from a community college into a top 5 university in the world. I was able to make enough money to graduate from Columbia debt-free with enough to start my adult life off on the right foot. And I was able to build relationships and friendships that will last a lifetime. If you pass up this opportunity, you are doing yourself a disservice.
35 people found this helpful

Sales Representative

May 2018 • Providence, RI

What I liked

Flexibility and focus on Personal Growth

What I wish was different

Employment Techniques

Advice

There’s no better thing you can do for success than to surround yourself with failure, resilience, and other positive people.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sales Rep

January 2019 • Mankato, MN

What I liked

What I have enjoyed most about my experience with Vector is the professional networking and personal growth. Vector Marketing is the sales/marketing side of Cutco Cutlery, the most popular knife company in North America. I had known what Cutco was since I was young because my family has had it since long before I was born. The job came to me over Christmas break freshman year through a friend of mine who worked it the previous summer. He had asked if I was interested in selling some knives over Christmas break to earn some extra money and, always open to new challenges, I took it on very skeptically. After selling over just Chrismas break, spring break, and summer break I had earned enough money to pay off my entire first semester of student loans (over $20,000 in total!). The beauty of the job is that you get out, what you put in and that the company values people over its sales. I am a career 2.9 student, but thanks to the skills and work ethic learned this summer, I am proud to say I possess a 4.0 GPA this semester with one month left to go. I now also have an enormous network of Vector leaders, past and present, at my disposal who are always willing to help and guide me in my professional career.

What I wish was different

The one thing I wish was different about Vector Marketing was its public perception. A big reason I decided to fill out this survey was to help more students see the opportunity Vector provides. If you do a Google search of the company, all that comes up is negative articles and misleading company descriptions. Because of this, I actually turned down the opportunity last October before diving in in January and ultimately changing my life. Another misconception is that it's a multi-level marketing firm, which it isn't. It's just a regular job with managers who are there to help you. Vector is an unbelievable opportunity for business majors (and great life experience for any major) and I wish all students would give it a try.

Advice

In life, no matter what your occupation, you need to know how to sell. Whether it's a product, an idea, or yourself, sales skills are crucial in any profession and in life. Vector has taught me this time and time again. Whether I am at a kitchen counter with two adults and they say no to buying $1,000 knives from me, or if I'm pitching an idea to some buddies and they aren't having it. Failure and rejection are large parts of life, and I've learned this first hand through my experience with Vector. Through all my success with the company (including one all-american campaign), I can wholeheartedly say I got five times as many no's as yes's. And that is proper training for what the rest of my life will be like.
7 people found this helpful

Branch Manager

May - August 2019 • New Orleans, LA

What I liked

The experience

What I wish was different

My bosses wouldn’t lie to me

Advice

This internship is worth the experience, but trust no one in the company. No one.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

branch manager

May - September 2019 • Lewisburg, PA

What I liked

I loved the ability to help individuals, especially those who are just out of high school and need t learn necessary time management skills for college. I loved being able to help students see their potential in life if they just put a little bit of effort and passion into what they were doing.

What I wish was different

I wish I would have recruited more people. That was on me and lack of preparation, though, not with the company itself

Advice

Stop listening to the weird reviews about the job. This is the best experience of my life; I would not trade it for the world. Give selling knives a shot.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Assistant Manager

January - September 2018 • Orem, UT

What I liked

I love the employee orientation of the company, regardless of what level of management you're interacting with

What I wish was different

I wish I had put in more effort to have an even better experience

Advice

If you want to succeed in any part of a company, or life in general, you need to be willing to work until you see the results you want
9 people found this helpful

sales

May - August 2019 • Hamden, CT

What I liked

Made my own hours Independent contractor lots of $$$

What I wish was different

I wish the office was a little nicer, the work environment was great but the office itself was over used and needed an upgrade.

Advice

Teaches you what its like to be your own boss. One piece of advice is to never get down on yourself, one bad day doesn't define who you are. Come back stronger. If you want to be the best you have to keep up with the best. No goal is out of reach. Anyone can be successful as long as your willing to put the work in.
2 people found this helpful

Branch Manager

May - July 2018 • Kalamazoo, MI

What I liked

I liked how much was in my control. I was the owner of a small business, and with that came a lot of responsibility. I liked helping my team grow and set goals.

What I wish was different

I was out in my office all alone. I struggled to build a strong team. I ran out of my expense fund much quicker than expected, and was really affected by the fact I was not succeeding.

Advice

I would make sure you have spent adequate time with your DM, and learn how to properly run the business before just jumping into it.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Secretary

May - July 2018 • Northbrook, IL

What I liked

I was given responsibilities in various areas of the office that helped me learn in areas that I did not expect to grow in.

What I wish was different

I wish I could have been able to make more money in this particular job.

Advice

The small skills you acquire in different jobs, even those that aren't directly related to your field of interest, will help you in the long run and make you even more apt to work in diverse work environments.
1 person found this helpful

Branch Manager

April - September 2019 • Thayne, WY

What I liked

Perfect summer job, fun work environment, flexible schedule, great pay, and great resume experience!

What I wish was different

Advice

1 person found this helpful

Branch Manager

January - August 2018 • Auburn, WA

What I liked

Opportunity for growth. Even with no sales and marketing experience, you can succeed at a high level and regardless if you're new or have been at the company for 10 years, everyone is investing in learning more and becoming either a better sales representative or manager.

What I wish was different

The culture. I've worked in a variety of offices and the culture wasn't consistent in all of them, but it's interesting to see how certain managers decide to run their own organization.

Advice

What you put into it is what you'll get out of it!
6 people found this helpful

Assistant Manager

May - September 2019 • Springfield, MO

What I liked

I enjoyed developing representatives and being someone that they could look up to. I offered advice, gave tips, and I continue to be an influence to these individuals whether that be in their work or personal life.

What I wish was different

Advice

1 person found this helpful

Assistant to Rejoinal Manager

June 2019 • Madison, AL

What I liked

I loved the people and community. Very hard working and driven people constantly surrounded me teaching me new things.

What I wish was different

Nothing! My boss is amazing and I still work for her.

Advice

Definitely don’t be afraid to ask for help. It’s okay to not know something— don’t be too embarrassed to turn it into a learning experience.
1 person found this helpful