http://www.chrobinson.com

C.H. Robinson

Sales Intern

May - August 2019 • Minneapolis, MN

What I liked

I liked the work environment and culture. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

What I wish was different

I wish I had the ability to try out different aspects that CH offers.

Advice

Try to help out with anything you can and don't be discouraged if things aren't going well.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sales/ Account Management Intern

June - August 2019 • Atlanta, GA

What I liked

I loved the environment and the internship program layout.

What I wish was different

I wish I would have gotten a chance to make calls and do more sales.

Advice

It was a great experience. I would say to take advantage of career fairs because your next opportunity could be right in front of you.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Carrier Sales Representatitve

May - August 2019 • Chicago, IL

What I liked

I was able to get hands on sales experience while living in one of the best cities in the world.

What I wish was different

Nothing. This was the perfect example of a 7-4 sales job. The experience I gained here made me realize where I wanted to guide my career.

Advice

This job is a lot of busy work. You control your day to day operations while managing some of your bosses book. If you want to sit there all day and be bored you can...or you can make cold calls all day
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Carrier Sales Representatitve

August 2019 • Atlanta, GA

What I liked

The internship program is great and gives you insight on the company.

What I wish was different

Everything was great.

Advice

You have to be very open minded when going into this role.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Carrier Sales Representatitve

May - August 2019 • Chicago, IL

What I liked

Working this inside sales position was amazing experience to prepare for a sales career right out of college. I was able to do the actual responsibilities of the sales role as an intern such as prospecting for new customers, making real sales for C.H. Robinson's contractual freight, building my on book of business, and learning/ assisting a senior sales rep with their large book of business. I was also able to learn the ins and outs of the logistics industry and was trained in the company's unique system software after just a few weeks.

What I wish was different

Although the experience was incredibly helpful to prepare for a career in sales, results can be frustrating as success largely depends on market and industry trends at the time that are constantly changing by season. The pay could also be better and there is a lot of time spent cold calling, sometimes with little results to show. Upper management organization could be improved as well.

Advice

I would advise any student looking into this internship role to ensure they have a good understanding of what the day-to-day job looks like. Also, patience and persistence for this role is key as dispatchers/ truckers can be frustrating to work with and results come over time.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sales Intern

May - August 2019 • Houston, TX

What I liked

The internship was an awesome, well rounded experience. Within the first couple weeks, interns were exposed to all aspects of the business, after that you are placed in to a singular role where you excelled the most and felt comfortable. I was able to gain actual selling experience and grew a wide network within my 3 months. Great Atmosphere and culture, Great technology, and even better people.

What I wish was different

The only aspect I felt was lacking was the ability or time to actually get out in front of a customer as compared to from the office.

Advice

Go in with an open mind and wanting to learn as much as possible. Through mentorship and training, Robinson will mold you In to the best version of yourself within the Logistics world.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sales Intern

May - August 2019 • Vancouver, WA

What I liked

The internship program there allows you to gain an accurate depiction of what a career in sales at CH Robinson looks like.

What I wish was different

They were just about to completely change their sale structure immediately after I left, so much of what I learned could be changed.

Advice

Take initiative to learn more than they have planned. You will only learn as much as you decide to take on.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

It intern

June 2019 • Eden Prairie, MN

What I liked

CH Robinson has a very open and inviting atmosphere, and there is lot of room to grow as a person!

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Account Management Intern

May - August 2019 • Auburn Hills, MI

What I liked

I liked that there was a group of interns that I was able to work with all summer. I also loved my team and they were continuously teaching me new information throughout the summer.

What I wish was different

I wish I was consecutively busy throughout the summer. Sometimes I found myself with nothing to do while other times I would be extremely busy.

Advice

It is an awesome experience and it is huge on a resume for a supply chain/logistics student looking for jobs!
1 person found this helpful

Carrier Sales Representatitve

May - August 2018 • Grand Rapids, MI

What I liked

Great opportunity to learn all things sales and logistics.

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Carrier Representative

July 2018 • Portland, OR

What I liked

The benefits and fast passed environment

What I wish was different

More beavers in the office!

Advice

Need to be competitive
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Carrier Sales Representative Intern

May - August 2018 • Atlanta, GA

What I liked

The environment at C.H. Robinson was fantastic, very upbeat and energetic. The people working in the office are constantly pushing each other to succeed and it is an overall fun place to work. The internship program is a good balanced of structured training and shadowing, with time to push yourself as far as you want to go. You definitely determine your own success in this internship.

What I wish was different

I wouldn't change much in this internship, I learned a lot and felt like it set me up incredibly well for success in my job search post-graduation.

Advice

Be a sponge in the office and learn as much as you can from the people around you. The most valuable skill in this job is people skills, and the people who work here have very refined and impressive people skills.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Carrier Representative

May - July 2018 • Vancouver, WA

What I liked

I loved the atmosphere of the office and how every employee is there with open arms to assist is anything I may have questions on.

What I wish was different

I wish my internship lasted longer than 10 weeks.

Advice

C.H. Robinson is a great company to work for and I cannot wait to begin my career. My internship was eye opening and I learned a tremendous amount.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Customer Sales Intern

May - August 2018 • Chicago, IL

What I liked

I liked the fast-paced environment. There was always something to do and something to learn which I was looking for in an internship.

What I wish was different

I wish that I had received more sales coaching and the opportunity to land a sale.

Advice

Push yourself past your comfort zone and be self-motivated. No one will hold your hand through the process, you have to want to do things for yourself.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Logistics Intern

June - August 2018 • Miami, FL

What I liked

My favorite thing is that I put myself in a position to learn a tremendous amount. I certainly was not walking through the summer.

What I wish was different

Nothing at all.

Advice

Networking is key.
1 person found this helpful

Transportation and Logistics

May - August 2018 • Secaucus, NJ

What I liked

Great atmosphere and company culture. Work-hard, play-hard mentality and very meaningful, hands-on work.

What I wish was different

More personal development for potential future employment.

Advice

Never be afraid to ask someone for advice or help with something. It is a learning process and continued effort and willingness to adapt is appreciated by management and colleagues.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Capacity Planning Intern

May - August 2018 • Grandview Heights, OH

What I liked

The company has a great culture and environment. People are welcoming and they understand the industry. As I learned they gave me opportunities to grow and develop and truly be a part of the company and not just a generic intern.

What I wish was different

People were welcoming but management was slow to introduce me to people. I was forced to go out of my way. During my last week people didn’t realize I was an intern.

Advice

Internships are just initial experiences. Take a job even if it isn’t your dream job because you will learn a ton and get to see your industry outside the classroom.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Software Engineer Intern

May - August 2018 • Eden Prairie, MN

What I liked

I really enjoyed being able to have a my own project to work on. I was able to design a website and API and showcase it to managers.

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sales Intern

June - August 2018 • Rochester, MN

What I liked

I had a great experience over the summer interning for C.H. Robinson. Each day I felt as if I was challenged and pushed to be a better business person while bringing value to the company. I believe that I have benefited from my internship in many ways. My general understanding of logistics went from zero to overload in just ten weeks. I never really thought of logistics and transportation before my internship but I now realize it is a huge factor in supply chain and greatly effects the nation as a whole every day. Logistics is basically what keeps the country going by delivering products all over the place. Another benefit I was able to take away was professionalism. The whole office was very professional and I was able to learn how a successful office operates at a professional level. This ranges from dress code, expectations and communication. To explain more on the last point, communication, I really advanced in this area. My email and phone skills before the internship were sub-par and now are well above the level I had started at. I wouldn’t say I had any negative experiences while working at my internship but I would say I was able to get rid of some negative traits I had. A couple negative traits that I had before C.H. Robinson were; being shy and being afraid to ask questions. By the end of my internship I was more than willing to talk to anyone in the office. To go with that, I would be way more comfortable asking questions to my co-workers. I would definitely say that working at C.H. Robinson changed my career goals. It has made me much more interested in working within the logistics industry and has even opened me up to exploring sales more. This internship has strengthened my career goals of working in a business setting and particularly in the supply chain field. I can see that there will always be a need in the logistics industry as we constantly need to move products around the world. If I were to make a suggestion to the College of Business at UWEC I would recommend that the supply chain classes go into more depth on the logistics industry. In a few of my classes we briefly touched base on logistics and general aspects of the industry but never went in depth. Having a segment or even a whole class on logistics would better prepare supply chain/ operation students. Whether a student is going to work for a logistics company or even manufacturer, having a better understanding of the industry would give them a competitive advantage over the students who do not. I really enjoyed the professor visit (Abe Nahm) and felt like it was very constructive and a good review of the internship. My managers also liked this visit and they hope to establish a relationship with UWEC in the future to be a pipeline for new intern prospects. In all, I am very thankful for my opportunity with C.H. Robinson. Each day was a challenge and I was pushed to become a better businessman and I believe I will be more successful in the future because of it.

What I wish was different

Overall, the internship really did not have any aspects that made my day to day life worse. I would say a few that there is a few things that I wish would have been different. The first thing I would change would be the layout off the office. At time I felt very distant from co-workers who I had constant communication to via Skype but never face to face. Another thing that I wish would have been different was the desks and chairs. The desks were standing desks but was a big process to lower so everyone had very tall chairs and your feet never touch the floor. It was not very comfortable and after 8 hour days of that my back would be a little sore. Like I said, these are tedious things and I didn't see many things wrong with the internship.

Advice

I would say that the experience was different then I thought it was going to be but in a good way. I am a supply chain major and just thought of C.H. Robinson as a supply chain company. Once I had started working there I realized that it is a supply chain company but with a very heavy logistics side. I had no knowledge about logistics and had a lot to learn right away. My advice would just be to look into the company and logistics industry more in depth before accepting a position.
2 people found this helpful

Transportation Intern

May - August 2017 • Greenville, SC

What I liked

Fast-paced work environment with a Fortune 225 company. You are hired as an intern but are trained like a full-time employee. You will gain incredibly valuable experience on the daily 8-5 work grind and learn through an absolute hands-on approach.

What I wish was different

I wish there were more interns in my location, but for the most part there will be multiple interns in the different offices.

Advice

Whether you think you know what you want to do or not, go into everything with an open mind. Don't believe it's going to be your dream job, and don't believe the job will stink. A clear mind is like a sponge, so go into your internship with an open mind and soak up all the information you can.
7 people found this helpful