The House of the Seven Gables

About The House of the Seven Gables

An American treasure…

In 1668, merchant and ship-owner John Turner built a house on Salem Harbor that was destined to become one of America’s most beloved historic homes. Designated a National Historic Landmark District in 2007, The House of the Seven Gables is best known today as the setting of world-renowned American author Nathaniel Hawthorne’s 1851 novel.

In 1910, Salem philanthropist Caroline Emmerton restored the house and opened it to the public as a museum, using proceeds from ticket sales specifically to fund settlement work that benefited immigrant families. Over a century later, The House of the Seven Gables Settlement Association is dedicated to continuing Emmerton’s dual mission of preservation and education.


Accounting Intern

August 2018 Salem, MA
“My Boss is the best! She thought me a lot about Finance and Accounting.”
See All