http://www.boeing.com/careers/college

The Boeing Company

Procurement Analyst

June - August 2017 • Philadelphia, PA

What I liked

Boeing is an immense corporation so the resources, mentorship, and connections available are expansive.

What I wish was different

I wish that some of the bureaucracy in the company could be reduced but that is to be expected within a large company.

Advice

Get to know as many people as possible in the office.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Engineering Intern

May - August 2016 • Oklahoma City, OK

What I liked

My coworkers were invested in my well being, and worked hard to give me the ability to work. Additionally, the pay allowed me to cover my final semester at WSU without working (kudos, because 20 credit hours and involvement takes up time). Also additionally, Boeing invested into social activities, plugging interns into a network together, some of which I know are friends to this day.

What I wish was different

Maybe if the internship were farther away, but I can't say that was a huge detriment.

Advice

I recently heard this one from my mentor, "Look at the people around you that you believe to be great at what they do, and figure out what it is they do to make it so. Then, work their good habits into yours, even if you don't think you can. You will be surprised when you do."
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Customer Experience Designer-Executive Briefing Center Marketing

June - August 2017 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

Within the Boeing company you meet so many people but working within the marketing division in such a niche style environment is a entirely unique experience. I was able to communicate and work with CEOs and decision makers with airlines and suppliers. This internship allowed me to gather a breadth of experience that you often time do not get working within a general marketing department. I was also given the opportunity to travel and visit other centers and that is a very special experience for an intern.

What I wish was different

Honestly this experience was far more than I expected and I wouldn't change a thing.

Advice

Don't be afraid to take initiative and suggest ideas. The Boeing company loves to innovate and create new ways of doing things. Don't hesitate to be the one that speaks up and offers insight. You are valued as an intern and so is your opinion.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Intern-Student Engineer

May - August 2017 • Titusville, FL

What I liked

I was fortunate to work on the propulsion subsystem of the spacecraft, CST 100. I was able to learn the working process of it and the entire CST-100 was getting built downstairs. We went once a week to see everything that we worked on by going through the shop.

What I wish was different

For first two weeks I had no idea I was doing as there was nothing properly planned on what I will be doing.

Advice

Boeing is one of the top company to work for. You get to learn a lot and get good benefits. You also have a great chance to go back full time.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Supplier Management Intern

May - July 2017 • Everett, WA

What I liked

Internship activities, site tours, made lifelong friends, loved the area and climate, Seattle had many fun things to do

What I wish was different

Manager and team placement was last minute and not a good match, on boarding was fairly disorganized

Advice

be careful when selecting your internship department/placement- you have little control over this but it is helpful to research ahead of time. Also, try to live close to the Seattle area if you are interning in the Puget sound. The location provides many benefits and is worth the long drive to work
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Logistics Intern

June - September 2017 • Houston, TX

What I liked

Great coworker and managers who want you to succeed. Many of them would reach out to help teach me and the other interns about the company.

What I wish was different

Nothing about the internship was an issue. I was just in a new city without a car which was a struggle.

Advice

Come in every day to your job ready/eager to learn something new.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Program Management Intern

May - August 2017 • Philadelphia, PA

What I liked

Lots of opportunity! There’s plenty to keep you busy every day, sometimes you just have to go and find it.

What I wish was different

I chose to live on my own. I think I would have been much better off with a roommate in the Boeing intern program.

Advice

It’s easy to think that the role is boring, and there’s not much to do. But the company is so big that there’s endless amount of things to do. Really take the opportunity to roam around different departments. I was in program management but wandered in finance, supply chain, global trade, engineering. So don’t think that you’re stuck to finance if you’re a fincance intern.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Procurement Agent

May 2017 • Mesa, AZ

What I liked

mentorship program: everyone has the chance to meet up and gain advice from a mentor or role model. Usually these people are higher leveled managers.

What I wish was different

I️ wish they had more of an internship plan, they kind of just threw Work at the interns.

Advice

Stay optimistic the culture of Boeing is changing.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

787 Flight Line Liaison Engineering

June - September 2017 • Everett, WA

What I liked

Very hands on and interactive with multiple engineering teams, technicians, and the customer(s). Fast paced and a new project every day.

What I wish was different

Slightly more clear directions on occasion.

Advice

Be confident and comfortable when interacting with technicians and members of other teams.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Systems engineering intern

May - August 2016 • St. Louis, MO

What I liked

I was given a lot of opportunity to learn and affect outcomes on a data analytics developement program. 1 week into my internship I was performing the analysis for a high profile customers 1st ever quarterly report.

What I wish was different

Nothing, this was a great opportunity with a great team. I enjoyed my time with that group and that internship directly led to a full-time offer in an industry leading highly competitive early career engineering rotation program.

Advice

Be willing to take roles outside of your comfort zone and take ownership of work within those roles. Fulfilling wprk outside of your skill set will expand your tool set and get you noticed for other opportunities.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Product Development Advance Materials Propulsion Projects

May - August 2017 • Mukilteo, WA

What I liked

Learning atmosphere Engaging projects Hands on experience Manufacturing setting

What I wish was different

Earlier Internship offer notification

Advice

Personalize your college experience by learning and pursuing what you like and are interested in. Do not just rely on courses, reach out to professors and or faculty to see what other opportunities are available.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

IT Programmer

May - August 2017 • Bellevue, WA

What I liked

I liked that my project was a useful application design change that was needed by our customers. My project had a real impact on my team and the surrounding teams, and was doable for an intern to see through from start to finish.

What I wish was different

I wish the environment was more like a startup with more perks for employees (i.e. relaxing environment, free snacks, casual). Since Boeing is an older company, it operates in a more traditional way.

Advice

Ask lots of questions and try to get as much from all your co-workers to try to find the best job title that fits your interests.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Procurement Agent

May - August 2017 • St. Louis, MO

What I liked

I enjoyed the work environment and the mentors I had. Interning at Boeing was very interesting for the reason that the company has so many opportunities for interns.

What I wish was different

There were a few times where I felt like I could be doing more work than what was given to me.

Advice

If given the chance to intern with Boeing, take it the opportunity.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Design Engineering Intern

May - August 2017 • Ridley Park, PA

What I liked

It was an incredible learning experience.

What I wish was different

Advice

Take advantage of all the resources on the site. Ask to shadow people outside your work group to learn new things and get a broader understanding of the work done.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Leadership Development Intern, Industrial Engineering

May - August 2018 • Everett, WA

What I liked

Working at the factory in Everett was an amazing experience. Boeing builds some amazing aircraft and seeing it in person was exciting.

What I wish was different

I was teamed with 2 other interns and we were given almost zero direction/feedback on our project which was quite frustrating at times. It was also really hard to feel like we were really achieving anything meaningful at such a large company.

Advice

3 people found this helpful

Radio Hardware Intern

May - August 2018 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

I had my own project where I had a lot of control over what direction to go it. Boeing also has a good internship program because you can see a lot of the company by going on factory tours and meet with engineers, etc. Work-life balance is also great!

What I wish was different

Boeing is a big company, I wish I had reached out to more people to do “informational interviews.”

Advice

In my case it was very self-directed because my team gave me a lot of ownership of my project, so you do have to be ok with making decisions. If you need to order parts or equipment, try to do that as early as possible because time is a constraint in summer internships that are only 10-12 weeks.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Procurement Agent Intern

May - August 2018 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

I loved what the company does and its impact. The intern program was very structured and I always felt like I was doing something with value.

What I wish was different

N/A

Advice

Make sure you are always asking questions and willing to learn.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Engineer

May - August 2018 • Charleston, SC

What I liked

Very awesome atmosphere to be around with people that are always willing to help!

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Supplier Management Intern

May - August 2018 • Ridley Park, PA

What I liked

At Boeing, I had a great experience learning the day to day functions of a Procurement Agent. Other than my work I had the opportunity to join organizations within the company and help plan events. I also had the chance to compete in Boeing Case Competitions with my peers.

What I wish was different

I wish some aspects of my experience were more structured--sometimes managers would be too busy to help me understand the system and it took me a long time to get accustomed.

Advice

Take advantage of all the opportunities present at the company you work at! Whether its planning events or even sitting in on meetings, there's always different routes of learning about a business even as an intern.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Liaison Engineering Intern

May - August 2018 • North Charleston, SC

What I liked

Every day was a different problem to solve; I got to see so many parts of the plane. My team members were helpful and dedicated to teaching me how to learn. My manager gave me a very thorough performance review at the end of the internship that let me know what I needed to work on.

What I wish was different

After the internship, getting back into Boeing is a little hard.

Advice

Say yes to trying new experiences, and don't get discouraged if you don't hear back from them immediately.
Be the first to mark this as helpful