NC Department of Health & Human Services

About NC Department of Health & Human Services

The Department of Health and Human Services manages the delivery of health- and human-related services for all North Carolinians, especially our most vulnerable citizens – children, elderly, disabled and low-income families. The Department works closely with health care professionals, community leaders and advocacy groups; local, state and federal entities; and many other stakeholders to make this happen.

The Department is divided into 30 divisions and offices. NCDHHS divisions and offices fall under four broad service areas - health, human services, administrative, and support functions.

NCDHHS also oversees 14 facilities: developmental centers, neuro-medical treatment centers, psychiatric hospitals, alcohol and drug abuse treatment centers, and two residential programs for children.


Clinical Mental Health Counselor

June 2019 - August 2019 Butner, NC
“I loved working with patients from different backgrounds. Especially tutoring in the children’s classroom. I even got to see a live ECT procedure!”

Title V Intern

June 2019 - July 2019 Raleigh, NC
“I liked how much I learned and the people I learned from.”
See All