https://jobs.mayoclinic.org/

Mayo Clinic

Biostats intern

June 2017 - August 2018 • La Crosse, WI

What I liked

Working in Linux was awesome! Even though a lot of my work was already scripted by previous employees I had free reign to edit/update and improve the work and the efficiency of our daily activities in Linux. I also learned how to work in a few different computer programs which is awesome and added a whole list of skills to my resume! I also learned a lot about myself. I thought I wasn't very detail oriented, I feel like I 'miss a lot' in general, or did before. But after my 1 year review at Mayo I learned that the things I did miss were only missed because I didn't actually know what to look for, and once I did it was self correcting so I am detail orientated! =)

What I wish was different

I wish I would have had more experience or knowledge in biology beforehand. As a biostats intern I ran through a lot of code and numbers and such but because our research will ultimately end in two manuscripts, I wished I had known more going in so I could write more and grasp more of the concepts quickly instead of spending time learning the more basic biological concepts instead of the advanced details that will end in the manuscript.

Advice

If you get a job with a lot of independence, varying task completion times and a lot of waiting/down times ask for salary OR to have remote access(but get paid while working). There was a lot of down time where I couldn't leave simply because then I would be working X hours less and receive X dollars less on paycheck. Also I worked a lot of hours at home but wasn't paid for because I couldn't work over X hours but still needed to get things done because I had to wait X hours for something at work when I was doing nothing. Salary would have allowed me to work the same hours but at more productive times. If I ran something for 15 minutes and had to wait 2 hours I would kind of swap those 2 hours with personal time and spend 2 more hours working my personal time. BUT I couldn't login on personal time (or get paid at least).
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Development intern

June - August 2018 • Rochester, MN

What I liked

The department really let me see what all of their different teams do, and get a well rounded experience and understanding of the philanthropic cycle.

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Business Administrator

May - August 2018 • Rochester, MN

What I liked

Friendly and Professional environment

What I wish was different

More difficult work assignments

Advice

I highly recommend it
Be the first to mark this as helpful

HVAC Technician Intern

May - August 2018 • Rochester, MN

What I liked

Friendly and helpful team

What I wish was different

No real complaints.

Advice

Great position for those attending a technical/ trade school.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Employee Well-Being Intern

May - August 2018 • Rochester, MN

What I liked

Loved the people I worked with and the variety of projects I got to be involved in

What I wish was different

Nothing, I loved it.

Advice

Get involved with whatever you can and don't be afraid to ask questions because you will learn so much more when you ask questions
Be the first to mark this as helpful

IT Security Intern

May 2018 • Rochester, MN

What I liked

Fun location to work

What I wish was different

nothing went badly

Advice

There are a lot of grey areas in a big business and it can be difficult at times to navigate. Also with so many tools and employees it can be a lot to learn
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Research Intern

June - August 2018 • Rochester, MN

What I liked

The vast knowledge I gained for Orthopedic Biomechanics and how I was able to apply my studies in Biomedical Engineering to applications that I was so passionate about (ACL injuries)

What I wish was different

There were other interns in my lab to share the experience with

Advice

Don't be afraid to seek out what you are truly interested in and passionate about for summer opportunities. I blind emailed the head of this lab on a whim without any connections and it just so happened that the entire lab was organically from Ohio and really wanted me on as an intern based on my background. I wasn't even expecting a response to my email and yet I ended up with an amazing experience in the end!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Medical Health Researcher

June - August 2018 • Saint Olaf, MN

What I liked

Challenging and rewarding medical devices research experience

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

hvac shop

May - August 2018 • Rochester, MN

What I liked

i liked working full time and learning new skills that will be handy in the future

What I wish was different

nothing

Advice

get enough sleep every night so you are awake and a good worker
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Clinical Laboratory Intern

June - August 2018 • Rochester, MN

What I liked

One experience that stood out in particular during my internship was the opportunity I had to interview a genetic counselor, which is the career path I am pursuing. In the lab I was working in, there were three laboratory genetic counselors. My supervisor worked with me to set up an interview with one of them for two hours to learn more about the profession I am pursuing. It was extremely informative; I learned about the different things she did in an average day, learned about her opinions of what she was most and least fond of in her career, and I got a lot of advice for preparing to apply to graduate schools this fall. She described the key things to do and know in choosing the schools I want to rank highest and how to make myself the most competitive applicant possible. She also gave me the contact information for genetic counselor supervisors at Mayo, because I want to apply to be a genetic counseling assistant next summer (and the following year if I do not get into a genetic counseling program the first time I apply.) The advice and resources I gained in this interview will be extremely beneficial in my career pursuits.

What I wish was different

The only thing I could have recommended to improve the Mayo Clinic Summer Lab Science Program was to offer more options for the regular classes we were required to attend. One of the seminars I attended was a very basic review of something I had just completed an in-depth course in the semester before. Had I been given the option of a different seminar to attend, I believe I would have gained much more from that time.

Advice

My advice would be to do an internship at the place you want to ultimately establish your career, or somewhere as relevant as possible. Once there, work hard to go above and beyond in your job to make a strong positive impression on your employer. This will increase your chances of being hired there in the future, and will give you an impressive employer resource to ask for letters of recommendation later on.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Undergraduate Research Fellow

May - August 2018 • Rochester, MN

What I liked

The program was a great experience that exposed me to a world class clinical research institution

What I wish was different

I was placed in a specific department that my skills were not best aligned with

Advice

The work will be difficult, but an open mind an attitude of learning made the experience great
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Research Fellow

March - August 2018 • Rochester, MN

What I liked

Learned a ton of new skills, lots of things to do in the city

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Rehabilitation Services Aide

June - August 2018 • Barron, WI

What I liked

I loved the people that I got to work with and helping patients.

What I wish was different

Nothing

Advice

I highly reccomend because it's great experience for any health science career.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Nurse extern

June - August 2018 • Rochester, MN

What I liked

Amazing mentorship, staff, community, and overall learning experience

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Undergraduate Research Fellow

May 2018 • Scottsdale, AZ

What I liked

I loved my experience at Mayo Clinic in the SURF program. As a part of the SURF program, you get assigned a lab to work with for 10 weeks, and receive compensation throughout those weeks. You work on a research project, and at the end of the 10 weeks you present your results. There are also a ton of information sessions throughout the program teach you about the grad school application and acceptance process and what it's like to have a career in research. At the end of the 10 weeks, there is opportunity to continue to work with your research lab, which is what I'm doing right now!

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Biology Laboratory Assistant

June - August 2018 • Jacksonville, FL

What I liked

Hands on experience

What I wish was different

More focused approach

Advice

Be ready for busy work
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Volunteer

June - August 2018 • Scottsdale, AZ

What I liked

Gaining exposure and experience in a field I want a career in

What I wish was different

Being a volunteer meant that’s I had limited work at the hospital. I wish I was able to do more hands on work along with helping out

Advice

It was a great experience in learning how different departments of the hospital work along with one another and being part of that was an amazing experience.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Radiology, Informatics, and Artificial Intelligence Research Intern

June - August 2018 • Rochester, MN

What I liked

I thoroughly enjoyed problem solving alongside PhDs and other interns to find the most efficient and effective ways to conduct our research and process data. The work was challenging, and the other people in the lab created a stimulating, learning environment.

What I wish was different

I wish I had more time to touch-base with the head of our lab. Unfortunately, due to the nature of our work and the extremely busy schedule of the person, this was not feasible.

Advice

Do not be afraid to expand your personal network. Just by working in this lab at Mayo Clinic, I established many connections and was able to shadow two world-renowned surgeons.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Clinical Assistant

June - August 2018 • Rochester, MN

What I liked

Working at Mayo Clinic was wonderful due to the amazing group of nurses/techs as well as other administrative staff with whom I worked with. I was also able to interact with all walks of life as patients came from all different types of backgrounds. Interacting with patients helped further my empathy for others which was something I was not expecting going in.

What I wish was different

I wish I had more of a variety of tasks to do. My whole job consisted of just a handful of tasks that were easily manageable and made the day a little boring.

Advice

Being in a recovery room, the nurses and techs really appreciated when I would help make beds or offer to walk patients when the rush periods where in full force. So, the advice I would share would be to help out when "you" are not busy as it sets up a better relationship with staff when everyone is helping one another.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Summer student

May - July 2018 • Rochester, MN

What I liked

I loved living in Rochester and being able to have the freedom to live independently. Mayo was a great place to work and I really enjoyed the change in environment!

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful