http://www.interlochen.org/careers

Interlochen Arts Camp/Interlochen Center for the Arts

Video Broadcasting Team Member

June - August 2019 • Interlochen, MI

What I liked

It was a great experience relearning the basics of broadcasting as well as some new techniques in it being NDI based and often being outdoor so we had to set up and tear down each production. I got to handle updating of the credits and graphics for each broadcast. During broadcasts, I would be assigned as Technical Director operating the TriCaster TC1 in switching camera feeds according to the director. It was overall a great learning experience with those jobs and with assisting in prep for live musical acts such as Peter Frampton and Diana Ross.

What I wish was different

I wish I enjoyed my time living there more but it was always very hot and the staff dorm rooms are small with no air conditioning. otherwise its a beautiful area.

Advice

Be prepared for the heat and to work outside. Be ready to pitch in as much as possible in any area.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Camp Counselor/Lifeguard

June - August 2019 • Interlochen, MI

What I liked

The campus is beautiful! It was so fun to connect with the kids there and share their passion for the arts.

What I wish was different

I wish that the camp counselors had been paid better.

Advice

Be prepared to have a lot of fun, but also be ready to creatively problem solve when needed! Be flexible!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sound, Lighting and Video Technician

June - August 2019 • Interlochen, MI

What I liked

Educational experience and attitude with the ability to expand and build up responsibilities; a day off a week and respect for my time; paid food and room; NOT called an internship in title; tightly knit crew given team building and team training; solid amount of free time

What I wish was different

A food stipend would be preferred to eating food, albeit free food, meant for picky kids. It's also sort of away from everything, ~40min from the nearest major city.

Advice

Be smart about where you buy your uniform; it's just as valid to get it from Amazon or TJ Maxx for cheap, vs. Old Navy or some outlet. I enjoyed making it as "mine" as I could; I picked button-downs over polos, wore expressive shoes, jackets/flannels, etc. The uniform is a little annoying but it's ultimately not that big a deal.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Cabin Counselor

June - August 2019 • Interlochen, MI

What I liked

The training was great, and the people in charge of the Intermediate Boys division were just spectacular at what they do. I learned so much from them.

What I wish was different

I wish we had been more receptive to our camper's complaints (to an extent), since there were common things: going to the WYSO concert every week, having to be back in division by a certain time, division-wide activities that they simply did not want to do. I think the camp is so rooted in tradition that these group activities and experiences had a different effect on today's campers vs. campers 50 years ago.

Advice

With your campers, set the expectation you have for them from the minute you meet them. Pair that with set the example of a good person room the moment you meet them. Consistency is SUPER important when living with middle schoolers, because if they see one camper treated differently than them, their intense sense of justice is set off. Always follow the rules, always. You're always on the clock, whether you think you are or not. Even when campers "aren't around" you never know if they're watching/listening. Commit to being a model adult.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Certified Nursing Assistant

June - August 2019 • Interlochen, MI

What I liked

-Being in an upper Michigan location and working with camp students.

What I wish was different

-I wish my hourly wage would have been higher.

Advice

-Always push yourself out of your comfort zone - like moving to a different place for the summer!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Residence Hall Coordinator/Camp Counselor/Band Camp Tech/

April - July 2019 • Interlochen, MI

What I liked

The community up at Interlochen is ridiculously supportive and close like none other

What I wish was different

It’s hard living with the students and still finding personal time

Advice

Take every opportunity you can get! Each experience is so much more valuable in this environment than you can imagine
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Video, Audio, and Lighting Technician

June - August 2019 • Interlochen, MI

What I liked

The team I worked with are all great people of which I would work. The projects were setting up many shows and for me being the Technical Director and Graphics Manager of the 2019 summer webcast series. My video team of which I worked with most often worked well together. I loved the area of Northern Michigan and being close to Traverse City made days off a great opportunity to discover some great places to eat and relax.

What I wish was different

My biggest complaint for the entire time was there is that the dorm buildings where staff live and have practice rooms for the students NEED Air Conditioning in the near future. The humidity was unbearable and ruined much of my downtime.

Advice

Bring a fan of any kind and always have water handy.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Stage Manager

June - August 2018 • Interlochen, MI

What I liked

Work experience relevant to my major, nice scenery, and great performances/venues.

What I wish was different

I wish the management had been slightly more organized.

Advice

I would say that you should prepare to live differently than you have before. Be prepared to live with other people, and follow your personal schedule to a T if you plan to be productive during the Summer.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Office Manager

June - August 2018 • Interlochen, MI

What I liked

It is one of my favorite places on earth. With the campus being situated in the middle of the woods and in between two beautiful lakes, it is one of the most beautiful places to spend a summer working in northern Michigan

What I wish was different

Advice

Come in knowing that working here is not about your own performance oppertunities or building a resume. Working at Interlochen Arts Camp is about being there to provide the kids with their most memorable summer.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Program Office Staff

June - August 2018 • Interlochen, MI

What I liked

I liked how I was able to join the team and start working right away. Everyone was friendly. I was able to help update some things to make the program-making process a lot easier.

What I wish was different

I wished some angry parent phone calls wouldn't have been sent to our department since we normally didn't have the information they needed. There was a lot of things that would get taught as you worked, but I wished it was more in a document of things you should keep in mind while making the program.

Advice

ASK QUESTIONS. Don't be afraid to ask, write things down that they tell you to do. Always be ready for a huge influx of work, the 6th week is crazy busy, but you will get through it!!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Camp Counselor

June - August 2018 • Interlochen, MI

What I liked

Getting to see my campers engage with their art of choice with such passion made every early morning worth it. I also loved my co-workers and found the woods to be very centering and peaceful. I learned a lot about myself and arts in general.

What I wish was different

I wish my parents would've been closer. My homesickness was difficult to deal with especially around week four, but I found that engaging more with camp made it easier and made the time go by faster.

Advice

Being a camp counselor is a very selfless job, so make sure that you're doing the most you can do others! It's not about you, but if you do your job right, you will find that you grow alongside your campers.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Camp Counselor

June - August 2018 • Interlochen, MI

What I liked

I loved the community that was created as we spent the summer working with the kids. I had many different responsibilities, and I really enjoyed that I got to spend the summer doing a variety of things, such as lifeguarding, office work, and working as a cabin counselor.

What I wish was different

It was really hot there this summer, and wearing the uniform was sometimes difficult! Also, occasionally management wasn't as supportive as they could be.

Advice

Make the most of the summer by working to build strong relationships with your coworkers.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Piano Technician

June - August 2018 • Interlochen, MI

What I liked

The experience

What I wish was different

The food

Advice

High velocity fan maybe two, Have money saved to bring with you when you get there to buy tools that you may not know about or that you’ll start using now that you know how to use it. Also, bring a bike.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Office Manager

June - September 2018 • Interlochen, MI

What I liked

I loved working with a devoted staff who were like-minded in what they were working towards.

What I wish was different

I wish I had gotten a little more training in everything that was going to be expected of me as the Office Manager in my division.

Advice

Be flexible. Things come up and you have to take care of them, even if it shouldn't have happened or came up from seemingly nowhere.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Facilities and Calendar Assistant

June - August 2018 • Interlochen, MI

What I liked

I liked networking and making new friends

What I wish was different

I wish I had more time to keep up with my practicing, composing and reed making

Advice

If you're a music student and/or you're going into arts management, I highly recommend working here!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Camp Counselor

June - August 2018 • Interlochen, MI

What I liked

I loved the community- the campers were great, the other counselors were great. It was very cool being in an environment that fostered this kind of unique creative energy. I also loved living in the rustic environment in Northern Michigan

What I wish was different

I have literally no complaints

Advice

Don't be afraid to follow your instincts, everything will turn out just fine.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Housekeeper

June - August 2018 • Interlochen, MI

What I liked

The people I worked with and the environment. It was hard work but I enjoyed making the friends I did and it was fun while it lasted!

What I wish was different

I wish we hadn't been understaffed, as it was very difficult at times.

Advice

Expect to be on your feet for most of the day, and don't take your breaks for granted. Do what you can in the rooms but don't let people get to you, some guests can be downright mean.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Camp Counselor

June - August 2018 • Interlochen, MI

What I liked

The atmosphere of the camp

What I wish was different

Nothing really

Advice

Be ready for the unexpected. ANYTHING can happen
Be the first to mark this as helpful