https://www.fitchratings.com/

Fitch Group

Credit Analyst

June - August 2021 • Chicago, IL

What I liked

All of it

What I wish was different

In person

Advice

Work hard
1 person found this helpful

Summer Analyst

June - August 2018 • New York City, NY

What I liked

The company gave real experience in the ratings industry. While some places make interns or Summer Analysts make copies or fetch coffee, Fitch uses the summer as a period of learning and growth for all of the students partaking in the program. From computing cash flow analysis on assets in commercial mortgage pools to drafting mock credit opinion on unrated issuers, I truly enjoyed the fact that Fitch treated me with respect and wanted to see me develop as an employee of the company.

What I wish was different

Sometimes work was slow and there were not many projects to complete -- I wish we were kept a bit busier. Other than that - no complaints.

Advice

Go in with an open mind and seriously give it your all. Ratings is a unique facet of financial services, and I definitely felt rewarded for all of my efforts by receiving a full-time offer.
1 person found this helpful

Marketing Intern

June 2019 • New York City, NY

What I liked

The team; the office space; the internship program

What I wish was different

The culture to an extent; it’s a financial services firm, so it’s a bit too corporate and rigid, but my team was very open and welcoming, so I found my place there quickly.

Advice

Be open to all tasks and all opportunities; be kind; Network!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Financial Analyst Intern

May - August 2019 • New York City, NY

What I liked

The people, the culture, the experience.

What I wish was different

I wish I could have been placed in a different rotation.

Advice

Never be afraid to ask questions!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Summer Analyst

June - August 2018 • New York City, NY

What I liked

It was good exposure to financial experience and you got to see how one of the big three credit agencies works.

What I wish was different

I wish I got more hands on exposure. Interns do not have much

Advice

Network internally while you're there. This is important for getting more work.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Summer Analyst

June - August 2018 • Chicago, IL

What I liked

I had the opportunity to work in two different areas of the company, the Global Infrastructure Group and the Commercial Mortgage Backed Securities group. It was a really big learning experience with me learning a ton of different ratios and financial terms. I particularly appreciated the mock credit opinions that we prepared and presented during at the end of each rotation.

What I wish was different

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

Summer Associate

June - August 2018 • New York City, NY

What I liked

I really enjoyed getting to work at such a large and important company. I was in Fitch's Marketing Group, and gained so much exposure to all the different aspects of business and of marketing within the financial industry. I rotated teams within the group, including CRM, Campaigns, Events, Press, Video, Digital, and Corporate Communications. I was also able to work directly with the Chief Marketing Officer, and many other executives as well. There were weekly meetings and presentations for all interns across all groups, so I gained much more industry knowledge in this way as well. This was my second summer at Fitch, and I definitely would love to go back for a full-time position.

What I wish was different

Advice

1 person found this helpful

Summer Analyst

June - August 2018 • New York City, NY

What I liked

Fitch offers a fantastic rotational program where interns have the opportunity to explore different groups within the company. I felt that overall it was a great program for students looking for a finance internship in New York.

What I wish was different

I would have liked to work more than 40 hours.

Advice

I would highly recommend applying for this position because I had the opportunity to learn a lot and network with experienced professionals in the industry.
Be the first to mark this as helpful