http://famousfootwear.com

Famous Footwear

Retail Salesperson

November 2017 - August 2019 • New York City, NY

What I liked

Ability to expand my knowledge in the retail industry

What I wish was different

Better management team

Advice

Always be positive and be ready to deal with different job functions.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Retail assistant manager

August 2017 • Cambridge, MN

What I liked

I love helping people when they come in the store and I love the work environment that Famous Footwear provides.

What I wish was different

Nothing

Advice

Working retail might not seem like the best job in the world but it helps you gain experience to obtain a different job in the future.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sales Associate

May - August 2019 • North Branch, MN

What I liked

It was nice being able to interact with the customers and also get a heads up on upcoming deals so that I could tell my friends and family.

What I wish was different

I had really bad experiences with my managers over the course of the summer, if I could have different experiences with them then I would have probably had a better experience.

Advice

Don't let the managers have something they can use to gossip about you.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sales Associate

August 2017 • Hamilton Township, NJ

What I liked

I enjoyed interacting with customers and learning about the retail industry.

What I wish was different

Nothing

Advice

Make sure to have patience with customers who have a lot of questions, need help, and are rude.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sales associate

July - August 2019 • Muskogee, OK

What I liked

The experience from working retail

What I wish was different

More stuff to do

Advice

The work experience is worth more than the money
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sales associate

July - August 2019 • Muskogee, OK

What I liked

The experience of working retail

What I wish was different

More of something to do while working instead of standing around

Advice

It's worth the experience more than the money
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sales associate

June 2019 • Wayne, NJ

What I liked

It is a pretty simple job.

What I wish was different

I wish I applied a little earlier in the summer.

Advice

Have patience when it comes to helping people.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sales associate

June - August 2019 • Fresno, CA

What I liked

The management

What I wish was different

The number of avaliable hours

Advice

The schedule is all over the place
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sales Associate

May - August 2019 • Brighton, CO

What I liked

I liked the store atmosphere and working with the team members.

What I wish was different

The communication could have been better at certain points but otherwise I really have no complaints.

Advice

To work hard and always be open to learn.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sales associate

May - August 2019 • Cape Coral, FL

What I liked

Working with a team

What I wish was different

I wish I could’ve worked there a little longer!

Advice

Working as a team has many different positive learning curves.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sales

May - July 2019 • Helena, MT

What I liked

It was a nice summer job.

What I wish was different

We had issues with the store manager but they hired a new one that is great.

Advice

Wear nice shoes to work!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sales associate

May - September 2019 • Hialeah, FL

What I liked

I loved the atmosphere and working with the managers . Everyone was really friendly and we got along like family

What I wish was different

I would’ve liked an increase in pay as the years of me working there increased. The pay was gonna stay the same no matter how many years I was there for

Advice

Become friends with all the employees and managers. Everyone’s there to help you and motivate you.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sales associate

August - September 2019 • Gresham, OR

What I liked

I liked the customer interactions

What I wish was different

Better co-workers

Advice

A lot of people steal in retail
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sales Associate

May - August 2019 • Fort Collins, CO

What I liked

Great store management and coworkers

What I wish was different

Higher management

Advice

Choose retail to gain great people skills and learn humility
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Cashier

May 2019 • Tilton, NH

What I liked

I enjoyed my coworkers, the regular customers, and the flexibility of my schedule.

What I wish was different

I wish the pay had been higher.

Advice

If you do not mind retail work, this is a great and flexible company to work for- especially if you like shoes.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sales Associate

May - August 2018 • Council Bluffs, IA

What I liked

I liked working in a small retail setting.

What I wish was different

That the other employees would pull their weight.

Advice

Be the first to mark this as helpful

sales associate

July 2016 - August 2018 • Bloomington, MN

What I liked

I was able to interact with a variety of people. Working at Famous Footwear gave me the ability to improve customer service skills. The skills have helped me in other situations such as presentations, other jobs, and volunteering.

What I wish was different

I wish the employees and I at Famous Footwear could've bonded more and become more of a team. I felt that being more united we could accomplish more of the store goals.

Advice

It is important to make the most of the opportunities that are given to you because you can learn a lot and apply it to other points in your life.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sales Associate

July 2018 • Sparks, NV

What I liked

What I wish was different

Advice

Always keep looking for opportunities even if jobs turn you down. You never know if you will score the right job until it happens.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sales Associate

July - August 2018 • Wentzville, MO

What I liked

I'm a social person so talking to customers is always a fun experience for me. Being able to hear different stories and meet new people, even at work, always makes life more interesting.

What I wish was different

I wish I was able to find a internship or some research job over the summer. Things became complicated when my sister had her baby, so to help support her and the rest of my family, I chose to stay at home and work close so that I could be there for them. If it weren't for them, I would have tried a lot harder to find a different job. Even still I wouldn't have changed my decisions.

Advice

My one advice I have from this experience is to not undermine the impact you have on people. The reason I was offered a position at Famous Footwear was because I had worked there previously. I hadn't worked there for two years, but in the event that they needed more help, my manager contacted me directly asking if I wanted to work. If you do your job right, no matter how small or unlikely it is that you'll do it again, people will appreciate the effort and more opportunities can come from it.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Sales Associate

March 2015 • Wyomissing, PA

What I liked

I liked being able to work with people I have experience with from home but also the ease of being there. I wasn't stressed or overhwelmed while working there. I am expected to do a certain amount of work per shift but it isnt hard. I do what is expected and above.

What I wish was different

I wish I could work here more during the school year. Over the summer I worked basically all day everyday whereas here, I am not close to home to do so.

Advice

Be motivated. Working in retail can be frustrating but just be pleasant and calm. Customers will be angry, they will want to talk, they will get annoyed with things you have no control over but you have to keep your cool.
1 person found this helpful
1 2