http://www.brose.com

Brose

Accounts Receivable Assistant

April 2019 • Auburn Hills, MI

What I liked

The company culture, very diverse group of people. Everyone is very friendly and supportive. This is an excellent place to gain experience while attending school.

What I wish was different

I wish I could work with other interns more often, but Covid played a role in that not happening.

Advice

It can be difficult to manage school, work and your personal life. Make sure you are maintaining all three so that you don’t get burnt out!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Motor Development Intern

April 2019 • Auburn Hills, MI

What I liked

Many opportunities to learn new skills, especially in the development departments. The office atmosphere is great for open communication and everyone is willing to help you in tasks/practical engineering knowledge.

What I wish was different

Nothing really, I love every day as it brought new challenges and experiences to the table

Advice

BE WILLING TO ASK QUESTIONS! If there is a task or project that you get suck on, it's more productive to try to work on it until you really can't reach a desired outcome. At that point, you can get help and review what you tried and see how the solution differs from what you attempted. That was one of the biggest catalysts for me to learn!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Machined Parts Quality Inspector

June - August 2020 • New Boston, MI

What I liked

I liked the people there and the different types of things you were able to learn

What I wish was different

The pay , there is a lot of work to do for what we get paid

Advice

If you want to do this job , you have to be able to work at a fast pace it’s about being able to meet a number . Also if your body is telling you it can’t take the strain of the job then listen
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Engineering Intern

May 2018 • Auburn Hills, MI

What I liked

The office environment, the people I work with. The people I have been introduced to, and the people I do business with.

What I wish was different

Nothing. I have no complaints. Only that I applied earlier

Advice

Apply to as many companies as possible
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Warranty Engineer Intern

May - September 2019 • Auburn Hills, MI

What I liked

Very friendly and welcoming company. Brose will be by far, one of the companies that truly looks to invest in you and promote your growth throughout your career.

What I wish was different

I wish I had been more knowledgeable going into my initial interview. Despite this, I learned new skills, networked, and am now moderately informed on a department that is very substantial to the engineering process.

Advice

Know what you want and by that I mean exactly what you want. Even if you aren't sure, pick a specific job title/description that is as close as possible or most centered around the general direction you want of your future. Fake it till you make it! Speak up for yourself, have an opinion, and do research before an interview, not just on the company but on the position(s) you may have the opportunity to pick. Do research before you even approach recruiters so that you can make your interests clear. Most importantly, STICK WITH YOUR DESIRES, have multiple leads to different companies going on simultaneously so you have the leverage to not be suckered into doing something that is not for you!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Testing & Validation Intern

May - August 2019 • Auburn Hills, MI

What I liked

I enjoyed the environment and my colleagues. I also enjoyed my exposure to the industry and OEM manufacturers.

What I wish was different

I wish I had been given more responsibility/ work over the course of the summer. I also wish that I was able to take on more of an engineering role rather than the day to day technician work.

Advice

I would advise having a strong interested in testing going into an internship such as this.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Quality engineer intern

May 2018 • Auburn Hills, MI

What I liked

The atmosphere and the experience I have had

What I wish was different

Nothing

Advice

Ask for opportunities
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Electronics Intern

May - August 2019 • Auburn Hills, MI

What I liked

The culture at Brose is great! I loved my team and how friendly everyone was! I was assigned real projects and was in direct contact with customers such as General Motors. Also, I gained international communication skills, as I interfaced with colleagues at Brose Germany (HQ) and Brose Shanghai daily.

What I wish was different

I wish the main project that I was given was a little more thought-out. The projects that I enjoyed the most were the ones I reached out to take part in.

Advice

Definitely reach out to people in the office who do things that interest you. The workplace is quite open - in the sense that you can approach anyone at any level within the company very easily. Generally speaking, everyone at Brose loves interns, so don't be afraid to ask someone a question!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Validation intern

May 2019 • Auburn Hills, MI

What I liked

Friendly work environment.

What I wish was different

For a system to train the interns instead of just learn on the job.

Advice

Must be interested in design validation and testing.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Project engineering intern

April - August 2019 • Auburn Hills, MI

What I liked

The work atmosphere was very accepting. I liked my coworkers.

What I wish was different

I wish that there was more work to do and that it was more engaging

Advice

Be prepared to potentially sit around and have to wait a couple days for work to come to you. Don't be afraid to ask questions and ask for more work.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Industrial Engineering Intern

June - July 2019 • New Boston, MI

What I liked

Experienced different aspects of the production facility

What I wish was different

There was a lot of work on the plant floor which was pretty warm in the summer so you would sweat in your work cloths

Advice

It is a great all around experience if you are looking to go into the automotive industry
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Engineering Intern

May 2019 • Vance, AL

What I liked

The co-workers and atmosphere were unlike any other. Such an uplifting workplace. Great learning experience for being around and working on such an automated assembly line process.

What I wish was different

I wish there were more projects that utilized my major and minor, electrical engineering and math.

Advice

Always explore all of your options and do not limit yourself. If i had limited myself to just electrical engineering roles I would have never had the opportunity to meet such great people.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Design and Drives Intern

November 2016 - August 2018 • Auburn Hills, MI

What I liked

Brose has an excellent company culture, and really helps college students grow professionally. Management worked extremely well with my school schedule which made it easy to work throughout the school year.

What I wish was different

I'm really happy with the time I spent with Brose, and I wouldn't change a thing.

Advice

It can be tough at times working and going to school at the same time especially around finals. Don't be afraid to ask for time off around then, management will work with you.
1 person found this helpful

Mechanical Engineering Intern

May 2018 • Auburn Hills, MI

What I liked

I loved my coworkers and I enjoyed my work alot. I learned a ton about the field of engineering within the automotive industry and I exactly what a mechanical engineer does.

What I wish was different

At times I felt uninformed about the work I was doing and didn't have enough context to feel like I was doing a good job

Advice

Don't be scared to ask questions and take in as much knowledge as possible.
Be the first to mark this as helpful