https://www.ey.com/us/en/careers

EY

launch intern

June - August 2018 • Dallas, TX

What I liked

I love the people! All of my teams were very welcoming and helpful. They provided ample feedback and gave me tasks that, I felt, really helped progress the audit. I became really good friends with my peer interns. Our recruiter, Courtney, is the sweetest and most helpful person on the planet. There is nothing I would have rather done this summer.

What I wish was different

The LAUNCH Internship is rotational however I didn't get a lot of time to work in tax

Advice

They will believe in you if you believe in yourself! Any insecurities or things that might stop you from believing you are eligible to apply are not significant enough to hinder you. I promise. If you go into recruiting with EY knowing you want to bring them value, they will respect and honor that by giving you the opportunity to do so.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

People Advisory Intern

June - August 2018 • New York City, NY

What I liked

Exposure to new industries

What I wish was different

Not all of the interns were put in client facing roles. I was, however, some of my peers who were interested in gaining exposure to consulting were on internal teams. Try to specify what experience you want beforehand, so you can best benefit from the experience.

Advice

1 One person found this helpful

Risk Advisory Intern

June - August 2018 • Philadelphia, PA

What I liked

The people I met and the projects I was assigned

What I wish was different

I wish I had the opportunity to see more industries.

Advice

Speak up about how you are feeling. People are really responsive and care that you are enjoying and learning throughout your internship.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Technology Advisory Intern

June - August 2018 • New York City, NY

What I liked

I really enjoyed working with the client and helping to solve their problems. My team was really supportive and my input was valued and used as deliverables. EY also has a great culture. We got the entire week of the 4th of July off and had multiple intern events to attend!

What I wish was different

I wish I could have stayed longer. The internship ended but I wanted to keep on working with my team and my client

Advice

EY is a fantastic company to work with if you value ownership of work, a diverse work force and a valuable learning experience
9 ${count} people found this helpful

Account Auditor

June - September 2018 • Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam

What I liked

My coworkers were super supportive and we all shared one same goal - to provide the best and most professional services to our clients. No hesitation in sharing their knowledge as well as coaching me to be well-prepared for the tasks. The senior also trusted me and assigned me to do cash flow working and build the whole financial statements of a very big company in Vietnamese market (TTC) The best thing in my opinion is this job allowed me to question about how a company operates and to discuss with clients on various subjects related to their operation. Consequently, it gave me the opportunity to have a glance of the industry the company is operating in and to understand its mechanism. Last but not least, during my internship, I was provided great opportunity to work on 10 different companies, operating in various sectors namely real estates, consumer discretionary, materials, etc.

What I wish was different

I’m also interested in doing audit for financial institutions but they are responsibility of a different department - FSO (mine department is Core Assurance)

Advice

Be proactive and do not hesitate to ask!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

IT Risk Advisory Intern

June - July 2017 • Atlanta, GA

What I liked

I enjoyed learning about various companies and networking with professionals in the accounting/finance industry. I grew personally and professionally while challenging myself to go beyond what was expected. I was kept busy for the duration of the internship and was also able to attend several company-sponsored social events with other interns.

What I wish was different

Advice

In order to make the most out of your internship experience, build relationships with professionals and fellow interns and ask thoughtful questions!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Assurance Intern

June - August 2017 • San Francisco, CA

What I liked

Brilliant people, Great opportunities, Entrepreneurial culture, Great place to start a career

What I wish was different

Advice

Network as much as you can during your internship.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

tax intern

January - April 2017 • San Francisco, CA

What I liked

The REAL world experience in tax profession. This internship really showed me the true experience what it meant to have a full time position in the tax profession.

What I wish was different

More opportunities/ intern events to get to know other professionals.

Advice

Be prepare to work the busy season hours.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Risk Advisory Intern

June - August 2017 • Los Angeles, CA

What I liked

The program was extremely well organized, and the firm is very generous to interns. In 8 weeks, you have the opportunity to produce work that is actually used by the firm.

What I wish was different

I would have liked the internship experience to be 2-4 weeks longer.

Advice

Make the most of your networking opportunities, and don't be afraid to make mistakes! A positive attitude is the most important thing the firm looks for during the end of internship evaluation.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Audit Intern

June - July 2017 • New York City, NY

What I liked

I really had a part in the audit engagement. My team took the time to teach me, answer my questions and gave me challenging tasks that developed my accounting and auditing skill set.

What I wish was different

I wish I had spent more time at the office instead of the client site so I could have gotten to know more interns.

Advice

When you finish your current task, ask for another one! Make your self a useful asset to your team.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Assurance Intern

June - August 2017 • Los Angeles, CA

What I liked

Ernst & Young LLP is one of the top firms in the accounting industry. Its commitment to developing strong professionals is admirable and the greatest part of this internship. They allow you to ask any and every question possible to ensure your growth with the firm, and the firms growth you. I was amazed by how dedicated every worker was, and it was incredible to see how much the company culture was present in each and every one of them. Working for EY, I immediately felt both included and supported and I am very excited to be heading to work for them as a full-time staff member.

What I wish was different

I wish the internship was a little bit longer! It was such a great experience, I did not want it to end.

Advice

Ask as many questions as you can. Do not be afraid of appearing incapable or incompetent. You're growth as a business professional is directly correlated to how many questions you ask, and how many answers you retain. Constantly seek guidance from staff members who already work at the company.
2 ${count} people found this helpful

Launch Intern

July - August 2017 • New York City, NY

What I liked

Showed me the work that comes along with an accounting career. Also go to see the company culture.

What I wish was different

Wish it was longer.

Advice

You won't know what you don't, or do, like till you try it
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Fraud Investigation & Dispute Services

June - August 2017 • New York City, NY

What I liked

The work was so interesting and the firms was so welcoming and loving.

What I wish was different

I didn't like the city.

Advice

Know excel and meet as many people as possible.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Audit/ Assurance Intern

June - August 2017 • San Jose, CA

What I liked

I liked the apprenticeship model of the company, I felt like I had a lot of resources and learned something each day about audit and the company itself.

What I wish was different

I wish I could have developed deeper relationships with more of the other interns, because that is who I will be working with in the future.

Advice

There is no need to feel like you have to know everything. As an intern, no one expects you to know it all, just have a willingness to learn.
5 ${count} people found this helpful

FSO Tax Intern

July - August 2017 • New York City, NY

What I liked

The people were great. Everyone was super willing to take the time to teach me, and they made sure that I understood the big picture. They also weren’t afraid to give me something challenging and really encouraged me to try on it. A big thing that was surprisingly important was that they didn’t make me afraid to fail at something or not understand because they would always be willing to answer more questions or point out where I was having the issue and let me try again.

What I wish was different

I wish it had been longer. The first week was training and the last week was in Orlando, so the internship was effectively only four weeks.

Advice

Don’t be afraid to ask questions. They know you are an intern, they know you don’t know much, but if you aren’t asking questions, you aren’t learning anything and that will look bad on you and you won’t get the full experience
Be the first to mark this as helpful

intern

May - July 2017 • St. Louis, MO

What I liked

I liked that I was actually considered part of the team. I felt like I was given meaningful work and was contributing towards the projects I was assigned. Everyone was helpful and willing to teach you everything you would need to know and more. I felt like everyone was a big family at EY STL.

What I wish was different

Honestly, I just wish it was a bit longer of an internship so I could really get into the nitty gritty of a project. That, and maybe a little more IT experience thrown in.

Advice

Do not be afraid to fail. Everyone there is rooting for you and wants you to ask questions. Mistakes are ok and no one is going to get mad if you have no idea what you're doing, as long as you go ask for help. Take the time to get to know everyone and introduce yourself.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Technology Advisory

June - August 2017 • Detroit, MI

What I liked

Value-given work and a lot of room to grow and learn.

What I wish was different

The duration was longer

Advice

Be prepared to be in charge of your own future, it will not be spoon fed to you.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

FSO BAP Intern

June - August 2017 • New York City, NY

What I liked

I got a lot of responsibility as an intern and really enjoyed working with my team. You also get to go to Disney World and Orlando at the end of your internship. It's a rewarding experience so would recommend!

What I wish was different

I wish I had gotten to know the other interns better. As the only intern on my project and since I was at the client site constantly, it was harder to get to know my big intern class.

Advice

You should definitely try to understand the company and the role as much as possible. Network with people so you have an idea of whether this is something you want to do or not.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Regional Assurance Intern

June - August 2017 • Chicago, IL

What I liked

I extremely enjoyed working face to face with the clients that I was assigned to. The work was way different than anything I have done inside the classroom but in a very good way. I was not just a task accomplishing intern, I was a hard-working, project assigned, independent intern. EY offers up the opportunity to start to shape your career. YOU make the internship what you want it to be.

What I wish was different

I wish the internship was longer than 8 weeks. I also wish I got to work on more clients in a wider variety of industries.

Advice

Always be asking questions. Ask your Staff, ask your Manager, ask Seniors, and ask Partners! Always ask why you're doing what you're doing; that's how you'll learn 90% of what you learn from the work experience.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Launch Intern

July - August 2017 • New York City, NY

What I liked

I like that interns have the opportunity to do rotations in each of the three service lines. I initially thought that I was interested in auditing but after a week in auditing I noticed that it was the right fit for me. When I had my rotation in risk advisory, I quickly learned that this is a career that I could pursue full time after graduation. The employees at EY are always willing to meet with you to answer any questions you may have about the firm or their roles at EY. The recruiters offer any support you need to help you make your decision for what service line you'd like to interview for and they work hard to give you a great internship experience.

What I wish was different

I wish that the internship started in June rather than July and that the internship was longer since it was only 6.5 weeks.

Advice

Don't be afraid to ask questions! If you are given a task and you're not sure of the instructions or how to accomplish the task, ask your supervisor. They'll appreciate you asking and taking that initiative to learn. Also, if a supervisor asks you to do a task, don't be afraid to ask how the task fits into the big picture for the service to the client. It shows your inquisitiveness and willingness to learn which are good traits. The employees love to have interns and they are willing to answer any questions so don't be afraid to do so!
25 ${count} people found this helpful