Douglas County

About Douglas County

Douglas County was created in 1883 and named after U.S. Senator Steven Douglas of Illinois who was the chairman of the U.S. Commission on Territories when the Territory of Washington was created. Waterville was designated the County Seat in 1886 and the current Courthouse was initially constructed in 1905. Douglas County is located near the geographic center of Washington State. The Columbia River binds it on the north, the west and the south. Grant County, formerly a part of Douglas County, is on the east.


Juvenile Corrections Intern

May 2018 - October 2018 Roseburg, OR
“I loved working with the youth ”
See All