https://www.doordash.com/careers/

DoorDash

Delivery Driver

May - August 2020 • Port Huron, MI

What I liked

Set my own schedule

What I wish was different

I wish they paid for gas and took out taxes of my paycheck so I wouldn’t have to file taxes at the end of the year

Advice

Keep track of car mileage and phone bill to use as a tax write off
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Delivery driver

June - August 2020 • Bloomington, IN

What I liked

What I wish was different

Advice

Be prepared for taxes. They cost a lot for independent contractors because taxes aren’t taken out of your paychecks.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Driver

May - August 2020 • Portland, OR

What I liked

I could work on my own time.

What I wish was different

Earning more money.

Advice

It's really easy to make quick money.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Deliverer

June - August 2020 • Davidson, NC

What I liked

It was very flexible, work hours were whenever I chose.

What I wish was different

It was difficult to maintain a consistent income.

Advice

It is better to work fewer hours during peak times than to waste time when business is slow.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

delivery driver

June 2019 • Lake Elsinore, CA

What I liked

The flexible hours.

What I wish was different

Higher pay

Advice

Know your work hour limits.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

delivery driver

May 2020 • Mechanicsville, VA

What I liked

Could create my own hours and take a break whenever desired

What I wish was different

I wish I had the opportunity to complete a job experience related to my major instead, but this was not possible due to COVID

Advice

This is not a role that I would rely on as a major/sole source of income
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Doordash

June 2020 • Birmingham, AL

What I liked

Flexible hours

What I wish was different

More consistent pay breakdown

Advice

Work during weekend dinner rushes
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Driver

May - August 2020 • Shelby Township, MI

What I liked

Being able to work whenever I wanted.

What I wish was different

Higher base pay per order by DoorDash

Advice

Good side hustle during the pandemic if you have trouble landing a job during these tough times, do not accept low paying offers.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Doordash Driver

May - July 2020 • Denver, CO

What I liked

I worked on my own time. Chose when I wanted to work. Made very good money.

What I wish was different

I wish I worked more.

Advice

It is a good job, but just remember to save a percentage of the earnings for taxes.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

DoorDash Delivery Driver

April 2020 • Strongsville, OH

What I liked

I love the flexibility of working with my own schedule and the ability to accept or decline any orders for any reason.

What I wish was different

Sometimes the app will crash, but I understand this will happen.

Advice

Working for DoorDash is great, you need to track your miles while driving because you will have to pay taxes at the end of the year. Tracking your miles will give you a huge deduction because you are using your own car for work. I recommend using the app called "Stride".
Be the first to mark this as helpful

DoorDash Driver

March 2020 • Iowa City, IA

What I liked

How I can make my own hours on the whim.

What I wish was different

I wish I would have known I should've been keeping track of my mileage for tax purposes from the beginning. Instead I realized that 6 months into the job.

Advice

Only accept orders that is worth however many miles you have to drive for it, and keep track of how many miles you have to do for each order.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Pizza Delivery Driver

June 2020 • Gresham, OR

What I liked

The hours are completey adjustable, the pay averages out to be very high

What I wish was different

Not all the places I picked up from were covid safe

Advice

Be willing to let orders go to make room for more profitable ones, but still accept enough to keep your ratings high
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Doordash Driver

June 2020 • Grand Rapids, MI

What I liked

Flexible hours, high pay

What I wish was different

I had to schedule my own hours completely, pay fluctuated depending on the day

Advice

Schedule your hours in advance to hold yourself accountable to going out!
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Food Delivery

June - August 2020 • Chesapeake, VA

What I liked

Got to chose my own hours. Good pay if you put in the time.

What I wish was different

Advice

Having a reliable car is important.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Route Delivery Clerk

March - August 2020 • Old Saybrook, CT

What I liked

Being able to control my own hours, being my own boss and working on my own time, the promotions over the summer were fair. overall good experience

What I wish was different

More promotions during busy summer hours and days especially around holidays

Advice

Try and obtain the veteran dasher/priority dasher award by completing many deliveries so that you can sign on whenever
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Dasher

June 2018 - October 2019 • Santa Clara, CA

What I liked

Flexible & easy

What I wish was different

Worked during peak hours so I could make at least $150 a day

Advice

Get a car with better gas mileage
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Delivery driver

July 2019 • Springfield, MO

What I liked

I like doordash because I am literally my own boss and can make up to $25 an hour.

What I wish was different

Wish it had been easier to get into. At the begining it is very very hard to pick up shofts as you cannot schedule yourself ahead of time until you have atleast 100 deliveries and are actively working each week.

Advice

Stick with it and you will make money.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Doordash Dasher

June 2019 • Seattle, WA

What I liked

I liked that I was about to make my own schedule and work whenever I wanted to.

What I wish was different

I enjoyed my experience. No changes necessary.

Advice

If someone was to be a Dasher, I would recommend to save restaurant receipts and hand them to the customer at dropoff. They are likely to tip higher if they see the amount paid.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Doordash

June 2017 • Murrieta, CA

What I liked

I like that I can work my own schedule

What I wish was different

I wish they would raise the minimum pay and change the rating system

Advice

Try your hardest to be on time to every delivery cause it can severely affect your rating. Also, don't accept delivery's under $4.50.
Be the first to mark this as helpful

Delivery Driver

May 2019 • Macon, GA

What I liked

Flexibility

What I wish was different

More money per hour

Advice

Be careful and aware of your surroundings when delivering.
Be the first to mark this as helpful